When Emotion Taunts Knowledge

Irrational fascination.
Forces of attraction.
Lured
into a familiar web of desire
an intricate maze I may never escape
relocation, my lone saving grace.

It’s a like that hardly likes
fails to fathom the concept of love.

It’s a yearning as endless as time
demanding a response,

but these,
these feelings will not be reciprocated.

It’s a silly match
only worthy of chicken scratch on paper
written down as an argument against plausibility
an attempt
to save this heart from pointless pain.

Yet pain’s point scrapes against my chest
nonetheless
roots of bitterness, deeply entrenched
when feelings go unrequited and conversations gifted to others instead.

Until finally
I’m faced with the chilling fact

this one
has become
My One
though friendship has barely begun,

and just as reality slaps across my face
as soon as passion fades, allowing fleeting peace…

That warm smile
those lit up eyes
start a thunderous squall, raging inside,

and rogue desire wells up, yet again.
Hope sinks its claws.

3 thoughts on “When Emotion Taunts Knowledge

Leave A Reply